Jimmie Johnson

February 9, 2009 by  
Filed under

Jimmie Kenneth Johnson was born in El Cajon, California on the 17th of September 1975. His racing career began successfully on 50cc motorcycles when he was five-years old. By the age of eight he won the 60cc class championship, even though he had injured his knee and there were still seven races to go. From motorcycles he made his way to four wheels where he competed in many off-road leagues. These included SODA, Mickey Thompson Entertainment Group and SCORE International. Here he received Rookie of the Year honors in all three leagues, made a total of 25 wins, over 100 top-three finishes and six championships. In 1996 and 1997 SODA series Jimmie Johnson raced with Herzog Motorsports as well as being a field reporter for ESPN in the SODA series.

A year later Johnson joined the American Speed Association (ASA) circuit where he was chosen for Rookie of the Year honors as well as finishing fourth overall. At the same time he joined NASCAR Busch Series and began racing with them. In 1999 he did the same, running in both the ASA and Busch Series and won twice, finishing third in the ASA point race. The following year he became a Busch Series driver but this time with Herzog Motorsports. Jimmie Johnson won his first Busch Series in 2001 on the Chicagoland Speedway at the Hills Brothers Coffee 300.

By the end of 2006 Johnson had the honor of being the only driver to win the Allstate 400 at the Brickyard, the Daytona 500 and the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Championship all in one year and the only driver to win three Coca-Cola 600s in one go. Jimmie’s 2006 season saw him win the first of four Sprint Cup Series championships, as well as the Nextel All-Star challenge. He was voted 2006 Driver of the year, an award that is unique in that it covers the entire racing series in the United States. Johnson continued on a winning streak in 2007 where he won a series of races as well as his second consecutive championship. 2008 saw Johnson notching up 7 wins, 6 poles, 15 top-fives, 22 top-tens and the Sprint Cup Series championship. In 2009 he made NASCAR history by being the first driver to win four consecutive championships. His achievements for the season included 7 wins, 4 poles, 16 top-fives, and 24 top-tens. Jimmie Johnson was chosen as the 2009 Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year.

Having set the goal of winning five consecutive championships, by the end of March 2010 Johnson was right on track with 3 wins, 3 top-fives, and 3 top-tens, the downside being a DNF at the Daytona 500. Currently Johnson drives the #48 Lowe’s Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS, which is owned by Jeff Gordon, sponsored by Lowe’s and operated by Hendrick Motorsports.

The ASA Speed Truck Challenge Series

April 4, 2008 by  
Filed under Features

Any one who loves their vehicles big and fast will love the ASA Speed Truck Challenge Series. Set to take place this Saturday night on 5 April 2008, the racing series will highlight an impressive five divisions of truck racing. This is the ASA Speed Truck Challenge Series’ 12th season of racing and it certainly looks as if it will be one of the best racing seasons ever.

The ASA Speed Truck Challenge Series is a regional racing series that caters for mid-sized racing trucks. The series caters to a wide range of driving talent, and drivers may range between 14 and 60 years of age. The next races will be held at the Toyota Speedway in Irwindale. So far this year the ASA-STC has already seen some crazy action. Not only have two first-time winners emerged, but 15 year old Chris Buescher from Texas has set the fastest qualifying lap time, won the trophy dash and taken the 100 lap feature during the last fifty feet of the last lap. This was Chris Buescher’s first time inside a speed truck, which makes this remarkable feat even more astounding. If the rest of the ASA-STC Series continues at the same pace, this weekend’s racing is bound to be phenomenal. What’s more, the Toyota Speedway is a team favorite with a fast track and multi grooves which give drivers plenty of elbow room.

Added to all this excitement is the West Coast Pro Truck Series, which will also be taking place this Saturday night at the Toyota Speedway. Previously this leg of the series featured a 30 lap race that was won by Ricky James. On the one third mile paved oval inside the half mile track the Legend Cars will be running a 25-lap race. After this feature, the same track will host the speedway’s Bandolero division. These cars may be small, but they are quick and five youngsters have the opportunity to fine-tune their talent from a very young age.

If you want to make sure that you’re part of the action, get ready to book your ticket now! Added to the madness is a Recession Buster Night special that enables fans to purchase two tickets for the price of one. The gates will be open from 16:00 and the racing action will start at around 19:00. So get there early and make sure that you don’t miss out!