Budweiser Duels 2015

December 18, 2014 by  
Filed under events

Held annually at the Daytona International Speedway, the Buddweiser Duels are two 150-mile races in which the finishing order determines the starting lineup for the Daytona 500. The race first took place in 1959 and has changed names over the years in line with sponsorships. The 2014 event was won by Matt Kenseth and Denny Hamlim – both driving for Joe Gibbs Racing. Be sure to catch the action in the second race of the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series on 19 February.

Date: 19 February 2014
Venue: Daytona International Speedway
City: Daytona Beach
State: Florida

Logano Wins at Bristol; Hamlin and Harvick Clash

August 25, 2014 by  
Filed under News

Joey Logano notched up his third win of the season and his first at Bristol Motor Speedway, when he took the checkered flag in the Irwin Tools Night Race on Saturday. Following a late restart and with 45 laps to go, Logano took the lead from Matt Kenseth and held off teammate Brad Keselowski to win the race. Having finished in the top six in five consecutive races, Logano is firmly in the picture for the Chase for the Sprint Cup which starts on September 14 with the MyAFibStory.com 400 at Chicagoland Speedway. Keselowski took second place in the Irwin Tools Night Race, with Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson, and Kurt Busch taking third, fourth and fifth spots respectively.

In a post-race interview Logano was quoted as saying that the past six or seven races have been unbelievable and running up front has “been so much fun”. While acknowledging that he really wanted the victory, Keselowski note that a “Penske 1-2 is something to be proud of.”

There were two big crashes in the Irwin Tools Night Race, fortunately with no injuries. The first crash, between Brian Vickers and Aric Almirola, collected Clint Bowyer and Kyle Busch, but the second crash is the one getting a lot of media attention as it raises the issue of how drivers should handle accidents. On lap 161 Kevin Harvick connected Denny Hamlin, sending him across the track to slam into the inside wall. Dale Earnhardt Jr. also became a casualty of the collision as he tried, and failed, to avoid Hamlin’s spinning car. When Hamlin got out of his car, he threw his HANS device at Harvick as the race continued. Although Hamlin remained in his car until safety crews arrived and was on the apron when he threw the device, it remains to be seen whether he will face a penalty for his action, particularly as on track safety and driver accountability remains under the spotlight following the altercation between Tony Stewart and Kevin Ward Jr. which led to Ward’s death.

With 845 points, Jeff Gordon is currently in the NASCAR Sprint Cup points lead. Dale Earnhardt Jr. is in second place with 818 points, with Brad Keselowski (776 points), Joey Logano (761 points) and Matt Kenseth (751 points) in third, fourth and fifth place respectively.

Sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship for Johnson

November 18, 2013 by  
Filed under News

Denny Hamlin crossed the finish line in first place at the Ford EcoBoost 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup race on Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway, but it was Jimmie Johnson who stole the show by winning his 6th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship in eight years, making him one of the most successful competitors in the history of the sport. Johnson only needed to finish above the 23rd spot to win the championship, and with his only challenge being brief contact with Matt Kenseth following a restart, which put him back in the field, Johnson finished the race in 9th place, beating Kenseth to the Championship title by 19 points.

Driving for Joe Gibbs Racing, Kenseth led for 144 laps of the 267 lap race, finishing the race a close second to teammate Denny Hamlin. Having suffered a fractured vertebra earlier this year, which kept him out of action for more than a month, Hamlin’s victory on Sunday was especially sweet. In a post-race interview, Hamlin noted that racing during the ‘Jimmie Johnson era’ was unfortunate for competitors as Johnson was, in his opinion, the best that there ever was.

Statistics reinforce this viewpoint as Johnson is the youngest driver to win six Sprint Cup Champion titles, beating Richard Petty by 83 days. His record of six titles in the space of eight years is a first in the sport, and his 66 Sprint Cup victories since 2002 put him 30 wins above any other driver in the last eleven years. His crew chief Chad Kraus has a record of 62 wins, all of which have been with Johnson.

Jeff Gordon can be credited for introducing Johnson to Hendrick Motorsports and the Sprint Cup series. He discovered Johnson racing in the Nationwide Series in 2001 and persuaded Rick Hendrick to hire him. Gordon was quoted as saying that as a team – Johnson, Kraus and Hendrick Motorsports – they are “unbelievable”. Many would agree!

The top five places in the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship went to (in order) Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Sylvania 300 2013

September 6, 2013 by  
Filed under events

Set to take place on Sunday September 22 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, the Sylvania 300 covers a distance of 317.4 miles (300 laps). Denny Hamlin was the winner of the 2012 event, driving for Joe Gibbs Racing. For more information visit nascar.com.

Date: 22 September 2013
Venue: New Hampshire Motor Speedway
City: Loudon
State: New Hampshire
Country: United States

Irwin Tools Night Race 2013

July 22, 2013 by  
Filed under events

With 500 laps, covering a distance of 428.89 km, the Irwin Tools Night Race is one of two NASCAR Sprint Cup races held at Bristol Motor Speedway. The Food City 500 is the other race. Winners in 2010, 2011 and 2012 were Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin. Don’t miss the chance to see who will take the checkered flag this year. For more information visit nascar.com

Date: 24 August 2013
Venue: Bristol Motor Speedway
City: Bristol
State: Tennessee
Country: United States

Next Page »