Virgin Racing

March 23, 2010 by  
Filed under

Virgin Racing made its F1 debut as one of the four new teams granted entry to the 2010 Formula One Championships. Originally granted entry as Manor Grand Prix on 12 June 2009, the team changed its name to reflect its title sponsor – Richard Branson’s Virgin Group – with the FIA releasing a revised entry list with the team’s new name on 30 November 2009.

Virgin Racing is based in Dinnington, South Yorkshire, England, with John Booth as the team principal and Nick Wirth as the technical director. The team’s drivers are Timo Glock of Germany, and Lucas di Grassi of Brazil, with test drivers being Luiz Razia (Brazil) and Andy Soucek (Spain). The team boasts cars designed entirely using computational fluid dynamics (CFD). Its chassis is the VR-01 with Cosworth CA2010 engine and sporting Bridgestone tires. While the team is based in Dinnington, the development and production of the cars is handled by Wirth Research, based in Bicester. Virgin owns eighty percent of the team, with other sponsors being Lloyds Banking Group, Bridgestone, UST Global, Carbon Green, and CSC.

Both drivers were forced to retire from their debut race at the 2010 Bahrain F1 Grand Prix. Nonetheless, the entire team has displayed a positive attitude noting that while they have some teething problems to overcome, the season is still young and there is plenty of opportunity to show that Virgin Racing has what it takes to compete in this demanding, and exciting, sport.

Classic Motor Show 2009

July 21, 2009 by  
Filed under events

Thousands of motoring enthusiasts looks forward to the annual Classic Motor Show, which will be hosted from the 13th to the 15th of November this year. With more than a thousand vehicles to marvel at, traders, product and services exhibitors, live stages and a host of other entertaining activities, the Classic Motor Show is definitely the place to be. Rides, workshops and the chance to run into a celebrity are a few more reasons to attend the Classic Motor Show.

From exhibitions to entertainment, the Classic Motor Show has it all. For more details regarding this wonderful vehicle extravaganza, visit the official show website at .

Date: 13 – 15 November 2009
Venue: NEC Birmingham
City: Birmingham
Country: United Kingdom

Formula One British Grand Prix 2009

June 10, 2009 by  
Filed under events

Be in on the action at Silverstone for this thrilling leg of the Grand Prix.

Date: June 21, 2009
Venue: Silverstone Circuit
City: Northhamptonshire
Country: England

2008 AMA Team USA Announced For Motocross of Nations

August 1, 2008 by  
Filed under Features

The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has finally released a list containing the names of the members of AMA Team USA who will be taking part in the 2008 Motocross of Nations. It seems the stars and stripes will be carried by a trio of Monster Energy Kawasaki riders this year, namely Ryan Villopoto, Tim Ferry and James Stewart.

As the trio get read to head off to the UK for the Motocross of Nations, they will likely be keen to try and repeat the success of those that have gone before them. AMA Team USA has thus far taken 19 victories at the Donington Park Circuit in England, so there is a lot to live up to. This will not be James Stewart’s first trip to the event. Unfortunately his hectic performance in 2007 – which made him the AMA Supercross Champion – also landed him with a knee injury that prevented him from shipping out with the rest of the crew that same year. But this year he is back and he is also the current AMA Motorcross Championship’s point leader. Stewart is in good company with Ryan Villopoto. Villopoto absolutely dominated the Budds Creek Motocross of Nations last year and this will be his third consecutive appearance as an AMA Team USA rider. While Stewart is a MX1 rider, Villopoto is the team’s MX2 rider. He has already done well in this position in the past and has been the overall MX2 champion in his previous two years at the event. He will now be looking to try and repeat previous successes with his third straight AMA Motocross Lites Championship.

Tim Ferry is also no stranger to the event and will be participating as the Open class rider. This is his third visit to the Motorcross of Nations. During his 2003 run with the national team, the team managed to finish second overall. Last year he managed to claim the overall Open Class champion title and his contribution to the team will no doubt be a valued one again this year as the USA team does its best to dominate the event. The 2008 Motocross of Nations event will take place on September 27 and 28.

Indy 500 Results – Victory for Dixon

May 27, 2008 by  
Filed under Features

The Indy 500 is one of the most prestigious races in North America and each year it receives plenty of media attention. This year was certainly no different and the race proved to be full of action and excitement every step of the way.

As the cars lined up on the starting grid early Sunday morning no-one would be able to guess the final result of this career-defining race. No one presumed that New Zealander Scott Dixon would manage to climb his way to the front of the pack during the course of the race, eventually shooting into the lead and claiming first place by the end of the race. The driving was spectacular and a number of collisions along the way had pit crews running for their lives. The 92nd annual Indianapolis 500 was every bit as magnificent as it could have been expected to be and the thousands of fans that streamed through the gates of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway could not have been disappointed.

When the race started a lot of heads were turned to Dan Wheldon – one of the top contenders for the checkered flag. Unfortunately Wheldon developed engine problems during the course of the race and he only finished at 19th place. Another top contender was Tom Scheckter. Despite the fact that he was among the top five for much of the race, his fortunes ended when he had to leave his car because of a broken gear shaft. Ed Carpenter also appeared to be blazing around the racetrack in top form, leading the front of the field for quite a long time because he did not pit. However on lap 159 Dixon overtook Carpenter and Vitor Meira, claiming second place for himself and putting himself in the running to win the race.

Accidents were plentiful and it seemed that the yellow flag was everywhere. Alex Lloyd from England hit the outside of the fourth turn wall, causing him to veer into the pit lane backwards and scattering pit lane officials. However this rookie received much less attention than Danica Patrick did. Patrick was hit in the pits by Ryan Briscoe and the accident destroyed her left rear suspension. With only 29 laps to go and having run in the top ten up until that point, Patrick was furious. This was the first occasion in her four trips to Indianapolis that she failed to finish in the top ten. She eventually became the 22nd person to cross the finish line.

Scott Dixon’s ultimate break came when he beat Meira out of the pits on the last fuel stop. He then managed to stay in front for the final 29 laps. This is Dixon’s first Indy 500 victory, although he did finish in second place in the race last year. The New Zealander said that he was focusing on fuel conservation for most of the race. Dixon is now the 19th driver to win the race from pole position and his win has put him in the line to receive massive money and corporate sponsorships. His chief competitor, Vitor Meira, eventually finished second while Marco Andretti was third.