All-American Soap Box Derby 2014

July 17, 2014 by  
Filed under events

The 77th All-American Soapbox Derby is starting July 26th, an event which has been around since 1935 and attracts participants from across the globe.

More than 400 racers between the ages of 7 and 18 from across the United States, Canada, and around the world hurtle down the 989-feet of track at Derby Downs, with some reaching speeds of up to 35 mph.

The event is held annually in Akron, Ohio and is a huge part of the town’s atmosphere and tradition.

Festivities kick off on Sunday July 20 with the Derby Downs 5K Run/Walk. Monday sees the Parade of Champions and opening ceremonies, with the rest of the week featuring activities for racers, families and spectators.

For more information on this exciting family-fun event visit

Date: 26 July 2014
Venue: Derby Downs
City: Akron
State: Ohio
Country: United States

JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals

September 24, 2008 by  
Filed under Features

The past weekend in Columbus, Ohio, was a very exciting one for auto racing enthusiasts. Eight champions were crowned in the various Lucas Oil sportsman categories following the outcome of the highly successful fourth annual JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals on the weekend of September 20-21, 2008.

The SPORTSnationals were held at the National Trail Raceway where more than 500 different competitors took part in a variety of action-packed events. In the end there were a lot of thrills and spills and the best of the best emerged to claim their trophies. Robert Baily of Wabash, Indiana, won the Comp Eliminator title and Jeff Taylor managed to lay claim to the Northern SPORTSnationals Super Stock title for a second time. Female driver Katie Sepanek from Moosic, Pennsylvania, became one of the few women to have won an NHRA national event when she was given the Stock Eliminator title ahead of fellow competitor and former champion Kevin Helms. Helms only just missed his chance to recapture the JEGS Crown by loosing to Sepanek. He won the JEGS Cajun SPORTSnationals in Bella Rose last April and has to win at least two of the three JEGS SPORTSnationals to capture the limited edition JEGS trophy. He still has one more chance at the crown, however, since the third JEGS NHRA Pacific SPORTSnationals is set to take place in Fontana, California, from October 3-5, 2008.

Other racers who managed to go home with a trophy were Super Comp winner Don Trasin (Pickerington, Ohio), Super Gas winner Gary Linkhorn (Cumberland, Ohio), Don Moyer (Pickerington, Ohio) who won the Super Street trophy, Ronnie Davis (Suwanee, Georgia) who took the Top Sportsman award and Bill Webb (Centerburg, Ohio) who managed to go home with the trophy for Top Dragster. The Coughlin family also enjoyed a good weekend, with John Coughlin getting the best finish in a quarterfinal finish in Super Stock. Mike and Troy Jr Coughlin each won their opening races but were unable to make it past round two of eliminations. After an action-packed weekend of fantastic racing, fans and drivers alike will no doubt be looking forward to the final instalment in the JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals this year. So make sure you don’t miss out by making your plans for the October SPORTSnationals now.

Speedweek Starts at Wayne County Speedway

June 23, 2008 by  
Filed under Features

The 2008 Federated Auto Parts Wayne County Speedway will commence in Orrville, Ohio on Monday night, June 23. Auto racing fans in that part of the country are no doubt getting geared up to enjoy some fantastic racing. The first event on this year’s calendar is the Pete Jacobs Memorial race. This will be the 13th annual Pete Jacobs Memorial race and the race, which will be hosted on the 3/8 mile dirt oval at Wayne County Speedway, will form part of the 26th Annual UNOH Ohio Sprint Speedweek.

The Ohio Speedweek tradition began in 1983 and has always been one of the top events on the All Star schedule. It is seen by many as being one of the most prestigious sprint car racing weeks in the US and spectators will see the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars taking to the circuit for a some grueling and fantastic racing. Fans are expecting this year’s Speedweek to be even better than before and the week’s events will no doubt be made even better by an appearance from the Super Late Models. When the race track’s doors are opened on Monday night, thousands of fans will stream in to watch almost a hundred drivers compete over a period of seven nights on this legendary dirt track. The resulting mayhem, bravery and perhaps even stupidity will make for a fantastic show that lasts a full week and ends with just one driver emerging as the “Ohio Speedweek Champion.” The week isn’t just tough on the drivers – its hell for their crews who are constantly working and seldom find time to sleep during this time period. However, most fans would argue that it’s all worth it and not only does the winner on Monday collect $5 000 in prize money, but the race is already known for providing some of the best race-car action available.

Fans looking forward to the Speedweek can expect to see the likes of Dale Blaney, Dean Jacobs, Lee Jacobs, Lance Dewease, Randy Hannagan, Cody Jacobs, Paul McMahon, Greg Wilson, Danny Smith, Mark Keegan, Byron Reed and many other popular drivers. There will also be a bit of an Aussie invasion of the week-long event, with many of the drivers regularly making the pilgrimage to the U.S. to take part in the All Stars Circuit of Champions. The prize money is also worth writing home about – a $10 000 point fund will be distributed at the end of the week, while a $50 000 bonus is waiting to be claimed by any driver who is able to win at least four of the seven events. The gates will open at 15:00 with racing getting underway at 19:00. You can contact Wayne County Speedway for more information.