Auto Racing Guide to CART, now Champ Car World Series


Subscribe to NASCAR, F1, News, Reviews, Blogs, Events, Photos and VideosNews FeedSubscribe to NASCAR, F1, News, Reviews, Blogs, Events, Photos and VideosComments


February 9, 2009 by  
Filed under

The Champ Car World Series, which was formerly known as Championship Auto Racing Teams or CART is the name of an Open Wheel World Championship auto racing series. It replaced CART in 2004 after the Championship Auto Racing Teams Inc. filed for bankruptcy. Roger Penske, Pat Patrick and Dan Gurney originally founded the organization in […]


February 9, 2009 by  
Filed under

The Indy Racing League, or IRL, is a sanctioning body for open-wheel auto racing in America. Best known for the popular Indianapolis 500, the IRL endorses the IZOD IndyCar Series, Firestone Indy Lights and, as of 2010, the U.S. F2000 National Championship. Tony George was responsible for the establishment of the IRL back in 1994, […]

Auto Racing Events

April 2, 2006 by  
Filed under Features

A1 Grand Prix

A1 Grand Prix is a new international motor racing series that conducted its first full season in 2005. Although open-wheel cars somewhat similar to those used in Formula One and Indy car racing are used, there are significant differences between A1 racing and other types of auto racing. The main difference is that drivers compete for their nation instead of for a private team or constructor. Each competing nation uses identical cars, with the hope that this will provide a level playing field for drivers to compete in. The main points of A1 racing are that driver skill should be the determining factor for success, and that one of the participating nations will be awarded the championship at the end of each racing season.