GoPro Indy Win for Briscoe at Sonomo

August 27, 2012 by  
Filed under News

Will Power took pole position for the third straight time in the 85-lap GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma this weekend, but it was team mate Ryan Briscoe who took the checkered flag, with Penske Racing claiming first and second place in this popular annual auto racing event. Briscoe crossed the finish line 0.4408 of a second ahead of Power in an exciting battle for first place. Calling his win a ‘confidence builder’, Briscoe was quoted as saying that he has always done well at Sonoma, having earned his first-ever pole position at the track in 2005, and it was great to finally get a win. As the seventh different winner in the thirteen race IZOD IndyCar Series this season, clearly the competition is stiff and the final two races are going to provide plenty of action.

Power had been in the lead for most of the GoPro Indy Grand Prix, but was caught behind slow traffic following his pit stop which cost him precious time. The hold up was as a result of a crash involving Josef Newgarden and Sebastien Bourdais where Bourdais lost control of his car, reportedly due to cold tires, and slammed Newgarden into a barrier. Both drivers escaped serious injury, with Newgarden injuring his left index finger. Briscoe took his pit stop on the following lap, giving him an advantage over Power and from there on out kept first place, noting that he had a ‘great battle with Will at the end’.

Other incidents in Sunday’s race included Alex Tagliani connecting with Ryan Hunter-Reay, spinning him out of the race with only ten laps to go. Hunter-Reay finished the race in 18th place. Driving for Penske Racing, Helio Castroneves finished sixth and picked up a penalty for making contact with Scott Dixon on the opening lap of the race.

The top ten in the IZOD IndyCar Series GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma were, in order: Ryan Briscoe, Will Power, Dario Franchitti, Rubens Barrichello, Graham Rahal, Helio Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud, JR Hildebrand, Alex Tagliani and Tony Kanaan. The final two races of the season are the Grand Prix of Baltimore on September 2, and the MATV 500 at Fontana on September 15.

Ryan Briscoe Awarded Bruce McLaren Trophy

November 27, 2007 by  
Filed under Features

The name McLaren is known throughout the entire world as a leading Formula One racing team. This is the legacy that was left behind by the magnificent Bruce McLaren, who proved he had multi-talented capabilities through his natural ability as an engineer, a designer of racing cars, an inventor and a phenomenal racing car driver.

Bruce McLaren was born on 30 August 1937 in New Zealand, and during his time in the racing industry he designed CanAm cars that won championships and some of the major races of the time. He finished in second place at the 1965 Canadian Grand Prix, and was given a trophy for his achievement. This trophy later became known as the Bruce McLaren Trophy.

On 2 June 1970, the car that Bruce McLaren was testing ended his life at the Goodwood Circuit, after he crashed off the track. His Canadian Grand Prix trophy was donated to the BRDC, to be awarded to the commonwealth driver who performed the best throughout a specific year. And this year, it was the turn of Ryan Briscoe to receive the prestigious award.

Ryan Briscoe was born on 24 September 1981 in Sydney, Australia. He started his career as a racing driver in America and Europe by racing sports cars and open wheel cars. By 2004, Briscoe found his feet as a test driver for the Formula One team Toyota, and by 2007 he had signed a deal with the Penske Racing team driving in the Indy 500. Ryan Briscoe has also managed to be assigned as the main racing driver for the 2008 Indy Car Series, as Sam Hornish Jr. will be moving over to the Penske NASCAR Team.

To complete his wonderful run for the 2007 racing season Ryan Briscoe has been awarded the Bruce McLaren Trophy. As the ninth Australian driver to receive this prestigious award, his name will be forever bound to racing legends such as Alan Jones (six time Bruce McLaren Trophy winner) and Mark Webber (four time Bruce McLaren Trophy winner).

Bruce McLaren’s dream is still alive, encouraging young racing drivers to give it their best. Indeed, he has left an indelible mark in racing history, a record that drivers such as Ryan Briscoe look up to.