Busch Takes Winners Trophy at Daytona

The Daytona International Speedway has a bit of a reputation for being a tough course, but no one could have predicted the drama that unfolded at the race track this weekend. With cars crashing and spinning on virtually every corner, the race was more about how well you avoided collisions than it was about fastest lap times.

Nevertheless at the end of the day Kyle Busch managed to take the winners trophy, only just managing to cross the finish line ahead of Carl Edwards. This makes Kyle Busch’s sixth win and it didn’t come easy. At the start of the race Busch struggled with steering problems that caused him to drop back to the tail end of the field but instead of panicking, he simple knuckled down and slowly worked his way back to the front. For a while Jeff Gordon was doing well, taking the lead for what appeared to be his first victory of the season. His dreams started slipping away when Busch skillfully managed to pull inside and overtake Gordon with only four laps to go. Then calamity struck for the former leader when a tap from Edwards sent him spinning off the track and ultimately saw him pulling in at a rather disappointing 31st place. Meanwhile the action didn’t stop there and Edwards was determined to give Busch a run for his money. With a little push from Kenseth, Edwards managed to pull in alongside his rival and the two paired up for the ultimate climax to any race – a thrilling drag race. But just as fans realized what was going on at the front of the pack, a terrible collision between Travis Kvapil and Sam Hornish Jr triggered a multi-car accident. The resulting mess was so big that the field had to be frozen and with just seconds to go before the pair reached the checkered flag a decision was made to choose the race winner based on who was ahead.

With Kyle Busch barely a nose ahead of Carl Edwards, the sudden change the course of the race brought about a somewhat unexpected victory and fans were deprived of the final sprint to the end – one which would have no doubt proven to be nail-biting. Matt Kenseth crossed the line in third place followed by Kurt Busch, Clint Bowyer, David Ragan and Dale Earnhardt Jr. respectively.

Back to Blog