North Carolina Auto Racing Hall of Fame

The North Carolina Auto Racing Hall of Fame is dedicated to remembering and bringing honor to the people and the machines that have been responsible for many memorable and extraordinary moments in racing. All the exhibits and inductees at the North Carolina Auto Racing Hall of Fame are testament to the love and commitment that goes into this sport, the long hours and the hard work done by everyone on a racing team.

There is a Board of Directors at the North Carolina Hall of Fame that ensures that all areas of this non-profit organization are taken care of. The board consists of Penske Team Owner Don Miller; Vice Chairman Cecile Ebert; Secretary and Treasurer Wanda Cavin; Bobby Allison, Winton Cup Champion and previous team owner and motor sports broadcaster, Buddy Baker. Other members include Johnny Hayes, Joe Gibbs, Darrell Gwynn, Max Helton, Garry Hill, Benny Parsons, Mickey Nutting, Rusty Wallace and Deb Williams.

The exhibits are constantly being rotated and changed to keep loyal fans returning to the North Carolina Hall of Fame. With more than forty vintage race cars being displayed at the museum, it is not an attraction that visitors should rush through. Cars, such as 1965 Ford Galaxy driven by Fred Lorenzen and by Wendell Scott, are still ready to hit the circuit at any time. The very rare Flathead V-8 1934 Ford is also on display, as well as the “Midnight” Pontiac that was driven to victory many times by Rusty Wallace. Racing uniforms and helmets adorn the walls and the Goodyear Mini-Theatre features some of the most spectacular racing documentaries and footage from year’s gone by.

The N.C. Hall of Fame also has a gift shop on the premises that has a vast variety of shirts, gifts and other memorabilia for the public to take home with them. Garry Hill is responsible for the many wonderful pictures that are displayed and has been commissioned many times over to bring the important racing events back to life. His artistic talent is seen in every painting and the public is able to purchase lithographic prints of his amazing work. The Indy Simulator is another great way to experience the excitement of the racing world.

Inductees to the N.C. Hall of Fame have included Bobby Allison, Ned Jarrett, Dale Earnhardt and David Pearson. Names such as Maurice Petty, Robert Yates and Dale Inman come to mind when thinking of the recipients of the Snap-On Golden Wrench Award. These names have been written down in history to be seen by future generations. Looking at the future, one often wonders who has what is takes to have their name etched onto that wall?

Back to Blog