Budweiser Duels 2015

December 18, 2014 by  
Filed under events

Held annually at the Daytona International Speedway, the Buddweiser Duels are two 150-mile races in which the finishing order determines the starting lineup for the Daytona 500. The race first took place in 1959 and has changed names over the years in line with sponsorships. The 2014 event was won by Matt Kenseth and Denny Hamlim – both driving for Joe Gibbs Racing. Be sure to catch the action in the second race of the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series on 19 February.

Date: 19 February 2014
Venue: Daytona International Speedway
City: Daytona Beach
State: Florida

Sprint Unlimited 2015

December 18, 2014 by  
Filed under events

The Sprint Unlimited is an invitation-only event held each year the weekend before racers take part in the Daytona 500. Be sure not to miss the first competition of the season! The 2015 event includes the sixteen drivers from the 2014 Chase for the Sprint Cup, along with pole winners, former Daytona 500 pole winners and former Sprint Unlimited winners. Fan vote determines the starting lineup.The race covers a distance of 301.752 km/187.5 miles over 75 laps and takes place at Daytona International Speedway on February 14, 2015.

Date: 14 February 2015
Venue: Daytona International Speedway
City: Daytona Beach
State: Floriday

Aric Almirola Wins Crash-Marred Coke Zero 400

July 7, 2014 by  
Filed under News

Washed out by rain on Saturday, the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway was deferred to Sunday where, nineteen laps into the race a dramatic multiple car crash put several NASCAR Sprint Cup contenders out of the race. The crash reportedly started with Ricky Stenhouse Jr getting loose from the field, resulting in Jeff Gordon moving to the left in an attempt to avoid a crash and connecting with Tony Stewart, causing a chain reaction. While there were no injuries, several cars sustained damage, including those driven by Stenhouse, Gordon, Stewart, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Larson, Carl Edwards, Trevor Bayne, Marcose Ambrose, Danica Patrick, AJ Allmendinger, Matt Kenseth, Michael Waltrip, Brad Keselowski and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

A caution had been scheduled for the end of lap twenty to allow teams to check wear on their tires, due to green race track conditions. Tiny particles of rubber from tires are left on the track improves the traction on the track surface. When these rubber particles are washed away by heavy rain, the track behaves differently, and is considered ‘green’, until rubber is laid down again.

While some drivers, including Stewart, are of the opinion that Stenhouse triggered the crash, in a post-race interview Stenhouse disagreed, saying he got loose and straightened back out when he got hit in the left rear by Gordon. Cars spun into the grass field separating the front stretch from pit road, where many sustained damage.

First place in the Coke Zero 400 was claimed by Aric Almirola (#43 Ford), followed (in order) by Brian Vickers (#55 Toyota), Kurt Busch (#41 Chevrolet), Casey Mears (#13 Chevrolet) and Austin Dillon (#3 Chevrolet) in the top five. His win puts Aric Almirola in the running for a spot in the Chase for the Sprint Cup.

The top five in the NASCAR Sprint Cup standings (in order) are Jeff Gordon (#24 Chevrolet) with 651 points, Dale Earnhardt Jr. (#88 Chevrolet) with 624 points, Jimmie Johnson (#48 Chevrolet) with 596 points, Brad Keselowski (#2 Ford) with 586 points and Matt Kenseth (#20 Toyota) with 580 points.

Coke Zero 400 2014

June 16, 2014 by  
Filed under events

Covering a distance of 400 miles in 160 laps, the Coke Zero 400 was first held in 1959 and is the second major race of the NASCAR Sprint Cup season to be hosted by Daytona International Speedway. For more information on this event visit www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com

Date: 5 July 2014
Venue: Daytona International Speedway
State: Florida
Country: United States

NASCAR’s Iowa Speedway Ready for Action

May 12, 2014 by  
Filed under Features

NASCAR will be hosting its first events as the new owner of Iowa Speedway on the weekend of May 17-18, when the Casey’s General Store 150, NASCAR K&N Pro Series, and NASCAR Nationwide Get To Know Newton 250 presented by Sherwin Williams will take place. In addition to the action on the track, fans can expect loads of entertainment with a special feature being fan photo opportunities with winning drivers. Moreover, instead of being held inside the media center, drivers’ meetings will be held on the opposite side of the front stretch, giving fans more opportunities to see the competitors before the race starts.

New president of Iowa Speedway, 28-year-old Jimmy Small is reportedly determined to make a success of this new venture, and to include fans and the State of Iowa in the process. Small concedes that he’s aware that many people think he is a bit young for the position he is in, but notes that he is professional in his approach and passionate about the sport.

Born and raised in Detroit, historically the automotive capital of the United States, Small is a graduate of Notre Dame University in Indiana, not far from the renowned Indianapolis Motor Speedway. During his senior year he applied for a position at NASCAR’s headquarters in Daytona, and was hired soon after his graduation. Starting off in series operations, Small went on to gain experience in other areas of NASCAR’s operation, and when offered the position of president of Iowa Speedway, he readily accepted.

NASCAR’s announcement last year that it was buying Iowa Speedway generated a lot of speculation, and a lot of excitement among fans and teams alike. Top notch drivers, including Brad Keselowski and Trevor Bayne, tested the track last week and gave it the thumbs-up. Certainly autoracing fans in this region have some thrilling racing to look forward to at Iowa Speedway this season.

Next Page »