AARWBA All-American Auto Racing Team Announced

December 4, 2008 by  
Filed under Features

Another fantastic year of auto racing is drawing to a close and now we’re at that special time of year when everyone’s hard work is duly recognized at various award ceremonies and events. This year is no different, and already the AARWBA All-American Auto Racing Team nominees have been announced.

So far it seems that top rivals Donny Schatz and Jason Meyers have been lumped together for the ‘Short Track’ category of the AARWBA All-American Auto Racing Team. Those who have been watching the two during the course of the year will find it somewhat odd that two rivals have now been made into teammates. Donny Schatz is not exactly a newcomer to the scene. This was the third consecutive time he’d won the World of Outlaws title and also the third consecutive year that he has been given First Team honors. Schatz competed ardently during the course of the year, winning 18 A-feature events and finishing the season with as many as 25 wins. He won as many as sixteen of the various World of Outlaws races and has also taken the Knoxville Nationals for the third season in a row. He is now one of only two drivers to accomplish that feat and he is eligible for the Jerry Titus Award, which is generally given to the ‘Driver of the Year’. After such a strong racing career he is understandably the perfect candidate.

Jason Meyers doesn’t quite have the same list of accomplishments under his belt, but he certainly isn’t doing too badly for himself. This is only the first time that Meyers has been named to the team and he was given Second Team honors after finishing second in the championship standings. He managed to win as many as nine of the World of Outlaws races this season and had 48 top-five finishes. He also had the quickest time trials at sixteen different races and managed to lead the series championship standings for a while near the beginning of the season. He has progressively improved his performance and stats over the year, finishing off by winning the first-ever ‘Breaking the VAULT’ challenge at Lowe’s Motor Speedway. In doing so, he also defeated nine other drivers including top rival Donny Schatz. Understandably both drivers are ecstatic about being named to the team.

The All America Auto Racing Team

December 4, 2007 by  
Filed under Features

The annual All America Auto Racing Team has been selected by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) for the past 37 years. The 2007 winners will be honored at the 38th All America Auto Racing Team Banquet to be held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Indianapolis on 12 January 2008.

The All America Auto Racing Team is the only one of its kind in motor sports, a fact that is recognized by Reuters, Associated Press and major publications. Two team members are selected from seven categories each year. In the event of a tie, both drivers are selected. The fourteen driver team is selected from Open Wheel, Stock Car, Drag Racing, Sports Car, Short Track, At Large and Touring Series championship categories.

The American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, founded in Indianapolis in 1955, is the largest and the oldest organization of its kind. With ongoing support of the aims and programs of >AARWBA, its membership has increased to over 400 throughout the U.S.A., Canada and Europe.

The Jerry Titus Memorial Trophy for AARWBA Driver of the Year is awarded to the driver who receives the most votes. Jerry Titus was an AARWBA member who, in addition to being a motor sports journalist, was a well-respected auto racing driver. He was the Trans-Am Champion in 1967 and was placed third in the Trans-Am series in 1968 and 1969.

The 38th All America Auto Racing Team Banquet will also be the venue for the presentation of the AARWBA Pioneer in Racing Award to Carl Haas in recognition of his achievements as one of the most successful team owners and businessmen in the history of motor sports. The Pioneer in Racing Award is considered to be one of the most prestigious honors awarded by the AARWBA. The award is given to an individual who has a long record of dedication and achievements which have made a positive contribution to the sport of auto racing.Auto racing enthusiasts who are able to attend the 38th All America Auto Racing Team Banquet – an event that is open to the public – can look forward to a history-making evening of excitement.