Hispania Racing F1 Team

The Hispania Racing F1 Team is making its Formula One debut in the 2010 Formula One season, having the distinction of being the first Spanish team to race in this exciting sport. Formed by Adrián Campos and previously known as Campos Meta 1, Hispania Racing F1 Team had both a change of name and change of ownership as it entered the F1 scene, being named as one of the three new teams to break into F1 racing in 2010. The team is now wholly owned by Spanish businessman José Ramón Carabante.

Driving their Cosworth CA2010 powered Hispania F110 cars, Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna failed to make the grade in the first race of the season, the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix. Both drivers qualified at the back of the grid, with Chandhok crashing on the second lap of the race, reportedly due to hitting a bump on the track. Senna was forced to retire from the race on the 18th lap as his car’s engine overheated. While the season may have started out on a disappointing note for Hispania Racing, there is every reason to believe that things will improve as the season progresses and no doubt both the team and F1 racing fans are looking forward to seeing great things from this new team – Hispania Racing.

back to Formula One Teams